Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

First off, we remembered to take pictures! Hooray! So if you weren’t able to make it, you can at least feast with your eyes.

Dinner with Foodie Friends on 11.11. 2012

Feast with your eyes!

Vietnamese Bun Salad is a delicious layering of flavors. I started the dish by layering the rice noodles over the lettuce. Then, I added the vegetables. Normally, I would add the herbs next and the protein last. However, I wanted to make sure that each guest was comfortable with the amount of herbs in their individual bowl so I served those on the side. The last layer is of course the homemade Nuoc Cham salad dressing. This salad gives you so many flavors and textures all at once that you can just feel the excitement in your mouth as you’re eating it. It’s a little bit of everything and it’s soooo good!

     

Vietnamese Bun Salad

The main course from November’s Dinner with Foodie Friends: Vietnamese Bun Salad.

Hmong Cabbage Rolls

Steamed Hmong cabbage rolls, a healthier alternative to deep-fried egg rolls.

Peanut dipping sauceOkay, now that the visual foodgasm is out of the way, I want to say a special thank you to my Foodie Friends dinner guests. Without your charm and wonderful conversation, Dinner with Foodie Friends just wouldn’t be as enjoyable. You really make the dining experience fantastic!

The part I enjoyed most from this particular Dinner with Foodie Friends was hearing how much everyone enjoyed the food along with the question that was repeated throughout the dinner, “Wait, there’s more?!” Yes, there’s more! These are five course meals so make sure you pace yourself. 🙂 I worked on the dipping sauces last so I brought out each roll when their respective dipping sauce was ready which was still pretty quickly, but it was still amusing to hear, “Wait, there’s more?!”

Oh, and with regard to dining etiquette, I would say egg rolls are finger food. No chopsticks or forks for this dish. Use your hands! For the egg rolls, I gave each person their own dish of peanut dipping sauce so they could feel free to dip into it any way they liked. When you have your own sauce dish, double-dipping is allowed! Then, I showed my guests how I use the dipping sauce and it was fun to hear one guest exclaim, “It looks so elegant and dainty when you eat it that way!” I simply broke my egg roll in half and spooned my dipping sauce into the egg roll, then took a bite and repeated for each bite. Mmmm…I can still visualize the sweet and spicy tanginess of the sauce on my egg roll. Delicious!

So with that, I invite you to come eat with me! I hope to see you at my table soon. Make sure to subscribe to my blog to stay current with my food happenings and send me a note if you want to be personally invited by email to the next Dinner with Foodie Friends.

Email: chopsticksorafork@gmail.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/chopsticksorafork
Twitter: www.twitter.com/chopstixorafork

